Deep Thoughts

During our trip north we drove through several small towns situated along the French Broad River in western North Carolina. Of course we had heard about the horrendous flooding in the area this past August as a result of the remnants of Hurricane Fred. By then downgraded to a tropical storm, Fred dropped record amounts of rain causing the River to rise from three to seven feet higher than normal. Tons of debris from upriver had been deposited along the River's banks. Metal sheeting wrapped around tree trunks stripped of their limbs, vehicles floated many miles down stream  and buildings torn from their foundations created a swatch of destruction for many miles. Having survived Hurricane Andrew as he attempted to destroy South Florida in '92, my heart ached for those who had lived through Fred and will be suffering his effects for many years to come. I couldn't bring myself to stop for even one photo of the destruction. And only now, a week later, am I able to express my sorrow in words. 
Today C & I hiked to the beautiful Anna Ruby Falls close by in the Chattahoochee NationalForest. I took photos of the falls but this photo of water cascading below them best expresses my thoughts. C mightily attempted to keep a head cold she had been suffering from to herself. But I managed to make it mine as well. It's a nasty thing, the first I've had in two years! I'm trying to kick it but we may need to cut our trip a bit short and head home. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.