pamplemousse32

By pamplemousse32

Watching the ships roll in...

Oh, the joy of sitting outside on the first few days of spring! I intended to go for a walk before jewelry class today, but ended up plopping myself down on a rock by the Bosphorus, and at the risk of making a spectacle of myself, rolled up my jeans and kicked off my shoes to give my legs some much needed sun. I wasn't the only one drawn by the water's magnetism and my neighbors made for good people watching. Two teenage boys egged each other on to go swimming, until one finally took the plunge, while his friend captured it all on camera. Men, watched on the sidelines, popping sunflower seeds in their mouths with the speed and efficiency of an assembly line and the rhythm of typewriter keys pounding out a fleeting inspiration. They left small mounds of shells- humble tombstones commemorating a day's passing. Couples cuddled, kids teetered on the rocks, the comforting smell of grilling fish danced in and out with the breeze, and the ships rolled in. All with the city as our glorious backdrop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.