Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

Ishtar Egg

Happy Eostre! I have eaten sufficient chocolate in the last couple of days to render me egg shaped. Far from having any regrets I intend to continue in this way for a day or two yet. The rites of the Goddess must be observed after all.

A bit of a lost day today, partly due to physical disintegration, partly due to chemical assault. I'll spare you the details. I inflicted them at length on my Facebook friends earlier - what is this human need to express one's troubles to others? Even when one knows it will no doubt just come across as self pity (which I reject). We all feel the need to recount our suffering to someone, in the absence of a real someone we resort to social media. It doesn't do any good, it doesn't change anything, and yet it lifts the burden perceptibly. "A problem shared is a problem halved" my proverbial granny might say; not true in practical terms, at least not when it is a problem without a solution, it just spreads feelings of helplessness and awkwardness. A more accurate aphorism would be "A problem shared is a problem multiplied". Pardon my ramblings, I blame the drug cocktail. The short version of today is: spinal disintegration results in 33% increase in hourly opiate rate and complete, rigid immobility while new anti depressants cause collapse of mood into a dark place, deeper than that experienced by my unmedicated brain. I'll be calling my doctor on Tuesday to get switched to something else.

I would have posted this earlier in the day but my super fast Virgin Media broadband connection has been acting up again, alternately not working at all or working almost imperceptibly slowly. I struck a declarative pose, fixed th modem with a beady eye and tried to reason with it:

"Were there but world enough and time,
This coyness Lady were no crime"

Only later did I realise it was in fact Andrew Marvell's birthday today, but I'll probably pretend that I knew it all along.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.