Grey Heron

It was still quite dark when I got to the loch today. The young one was on the grass waiting and came to meet me. She walked me nearer to the loch and I started feeding her. I was about halfway through when a woman came up the path dragging a screaming toddler. That was it! The young one dropped the piece of fish she had just picked up and took off well into the wooded area.  I waited at the edge of the loch for about 10 minutes but she never reappeared. I went back up later but there was no sign of her, and the council gardeners were cutting back bushes with noisy clippers and using leaf blowers, I thought that there was no chance then I spotted her flying down the loch. She landed right in front of me and got the rest of her fish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.