Back and Forth thru time

By pingufivemins

Postcards from a young man

Evening all,

My dear old dad's birthday today.

Obviously as I'm quite old now, he's not been around for a good few years, but I post this not as a sentimental thing.

I'd forgotten this photo, it's him and some of his mates having a bit of down time.

The thing that had never registered with me is the annotation on the back.

It says `miyajima, 23rd August 1947, Japanese sea`

What I didn't know, is that Miyajama is apparently an hour from Hiroshima.

Hiroshima... barely two years from the detonation of the A bomb,

and there's me dad on the periphery of history.

And no, as is true of that generation, never even mentioned he'd been in Japan.

Hello, I must be going.

X


Manics

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.