JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 325: Abacus

I'm catching up with Sunday: from a few minutes in the garden before lunch, I narrowed it to this or a pair of teasels against a yellow hazel blur, and thought this one was perhaps a little less like all my other photos. I'm not a great fan of cotoneaster on the whole, despite its brilliant winter colour, and I've inherited more with each new garden, but I liked the parallel lines of bright red beads glowing in brief sunshine. 

Sunday's accomplishment was preparing and stewing two large bowls of apples, almost the last of this year's fruit harvest. They are going a bit wrinkly now, so I'm trying to use them all while they are still edible. On Saturday J and I baked little chocolate fairy cakes in her cupcake baker. This was a gift P gave her years ago, very pink and cute, and I thought it was a pointless gimmick, but in fact it cooks eight little cakes at a time in five or six minutes, using far less electricity than the oven, so it's been well used over many years and has justified its space in the cupboard. The cakes turned out very well, and we had used her Dr Who chocolate mould to make assorted monster shapes in white chocolate, so her cakes were decorated for Sunday's exciting and shocking episode with the Weeping Angels - I didn't follow all the details, but there were lots of squeals and squeaks while she was watching. She has watched every episode since Dr Who was revived in 2005, and periodically works through all the box sets

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.