Feed Leroy

By FeedLeroy

Scrap Wanted

One of my favourite street artists is Slinkachu. He makes little models of people going about their business, places them around the streets of London, takes a photo and then leaves them there to be discovered.

So, I thought I'd try and have a go myself for a bit of fun and as a challenge. Off I went to the Trafford Centre after work to The Model Shop and bought a cheap pack of Hornby figurines. I then drove around Trafford Park trying to find somewhere for a location and figure out what I was going to do (I'm sure Slinkachu is much more prepared and has planned it all out very carefully!)

Anyway, this is my effort. It's nowhere near as good as Slinkachu. But, after all, it was conceptualised, planned and created in about 60 minutes ... so therefore I'm quite pleased with it :-)

Whilst the result turned out ok, I'm not sure if it was worth the hassle. Just as I was packing up, a youngish lad in his overalls and gloves turned up at the gates and decided to have a go at me. The 'conversation' went a little like this...

Him: (aggressively) "What are you taking photos of?"
Me: "The scrap yard"
Him: (aggressively) "Why?"
Me: (starting to see the red mist ... doesn't take much) "Because I want to"
Him: (aggressively) "Why?"
Me: (aggressively) "What the f**k has it got to do with you?"
Him: (aggressively) "Because I work here. Why are you taking photos?"
Me: (aggressively ... you get the picture) "Because I f**king want to!"
Him: "You're weird"
Me: "You're a pr**k"
I got in my car and drove off whilst he wrote down my car registration number.

Paranoia or what?

P.S You need to look carefully in the bottom right of the photo on top - can you see the 2 guys? :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.