Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Harvest times

Today I went up to my Koumbara, my best and first Cretan lady friend since 1977, to see her and her daughter and her granddaughter.

I'd left the bus a stop earlier than I should and thus walked along the valley with olive groves where often people worked in harvesting the olives; that is combing them from the branches down onto those nets, from where they are shuffled down into one heap and then put into a sack, what will weigh some 50 kilos when filled. In the etra another Olives reaping foto.... quite a job to comp them down from those high branches! 

Sweetheart isn't decided yet, whether he'll have his olives harvested or not; I hope he will, coz I like this harvest work, all alone I'd not manage, but together with some one else, it's good work. Sweetheart himself doesn't manage this work anymore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.