Living my dream

By Mima

Cake anybody?

The new mixer is every bit as wonderful as I’d hoped. To celebrate the acquisition I made a Lemon Drizzle Cake today. See the extra for the completed cake.

But let’s keep it between ourselves: I am famous for LDCs hereabouts and once word gets out, there will be impromptu visitors. What a shame I can’t send slices to Blippers…

It’s been a full day, starting with an early walk with Bean, before leaving her with her adopted Granny and Grandad while I supervised an NZEA exam at one of our high schools for the rest of the morning. I arrived to collect Bean three hours later to find her on the sofa with a G on either side of her; completely at home.

As well as baking this afternoon, I’ve wrangled the enormous bird net over the fruit cage and secured it on all sides. The gooseberries are just starting to colour, which is the sign that the net is needed. One year I left it a week later and lost every single goosegog to the blackbirds.

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.