Zeb at work

Very big day today! Couldn’t really take any pictures of it for legal reasons.

This morning I did part of my coursework I had to observe another teacher, I sat in on a very interesting lesson on Photoshop led by Grant.

So this afternoon was the big one where I taught a lesson I had devised on pop song structure and the names and functions of the components or sections of a song. I had a class of eight and the knowledge level was extremely low. My tutor Alison came to observe me and Gulliver came in to help me by playing guitar. Inevitably after the lesson there was a lot to discuss and there is a lot to learn but it went really really well and they all definitely learn something new so I was really pleased. Alison thought it was a really good lesson and was full of praise, Gulliver also thought it went well and I had good feedback from Wyn, he normally teaches that hour and with my tech support.
The main area for development is to try and get the students doing more independent tasks, I did have some but there are ways that I could make it more engaging. Also Alison talked about phrasing questions so that I elicit answers rather than giving them information, again I didn’t do this but could do it more.

The students are all in bands and they have a Performance next week. Gulliver decided he wanted to stay so we popped into all the rehearsal rooms listening and offering feedback and suggestions, he had some very helpful comments on guitar sounds and effects which they all found very useful.

All the teachers were very pleased to see him again.

I was exhausted after my lesson and had a headache for the final three hours, I’ve been very stressed in the run-up to this and I’m pleased it’s over and it went so well.

Zebedee is doing a tattoo apprenticeship and the shop is just up the road from the college so we popped in to see him.

Max made an amazing curry, Erin came round and Zebedee had his friends Cameron and Jack over, just watch TV, mainly Epic Rap battles of history videos and Christmas videos which was fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.