La vida de Annie

By Annie

En el dentista.

It’s not an alien, it’s an x-ray of my mouth with some high tech whirly thing that moves round your head. Until covid hit I would have twice-yearly checkups with my nhs dentist on visits to Blighty (or Plague Island, as known here). I was worried about fees here but I guess you get what you pay for, and the treatment by a cheerful, young and expert female dentist was excellent. She built up a broken tooth with filler and checked all the other teeth, spotting several problems which have never been picked up. Amongst them is a wisdom tooth which has no opposing upper one (I was born with only 3, which explains a lot), and she said that it would be biting my mejilla, or, after the nurse looked it up on google translate, is of course cheek. I had wondered why that was happening, but in decades of dental visits it has never been pointed out to me. I will go back next month to get that removed. This is the closest I’ve been to a human being I don’t know for nearly 2 years, but I didn’t find it scary at all. The practice was fully covid safe and I felt as relaxed as it’s possible to be with a needle and drill poked in your mouth. It was so much more modern and professional than what I’ve been used to. Five stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.