*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Long may she reign

“I love the fact that I make people happy, in any form. Even if it’s just half an hour of their lives, if I can make them feel lucky or make them feel good, or bring a smile to a sour face, that to me is worthwhile.”
~Freddie Mercury~

I couldn't let the 30th anniversary of Freddie's death go by without a tribute Blip in his honour.*

Remember it like it was yesterday. Mum came in to tell me, she was in tears and broke the news like it was a member of the family who had passed away. Strangely, that was exactly how it felt.  I was my usual "Ice Queen" self, but as I was getting ready for school Bohemian Rhapsody came on the radio and I just broke down and cried. For the first time I heard that song in a totally different way... the lyrics are so incredibly sad and prophetic in places.

Queen, but especially Freddie, has had such a huge impact on me throughout my life. I still miss his huge personality, individuality, humour, presence and his boldness in the face of bigotry. At least we will always have his music.

Love you Freddie ♥

Freddie Mercury
5 September 1946 – 24 November 1991



*The cross stitch pattern is by the excellent Unicornia. I edited the wording from the original because I wanted it to say "Long may she reign" as that's one of Freddie's quotes that always sticks in my mind and makes me smile.
Added a couple of extras. The inner sleeve of Bohemian Rhapsody which was released after Freddie's death and stayed at number one for 5 weeks and a Freddified Squatbetty :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.