Reindeer Singalong

My daughter suggested that we visit Van Hage garden centre. In view of the demise of retail in the high street I thought it was a good idea. I used to take her and her brother here to visit the mini farm and enjoyed accompanying her when she took my grandchildren to see the Christmas decorations. The place is vast now and very well-stocked. The business was started as a nursery at an old pig farm in the early fifties, about the same time as MrQ began growing in the Lea Valley.

We had some nice soup for lunch and enjoyed browsing in person. It was lovely to see the look of wonderment on children's faces as the animated reindeer sang. As I was photographing them a young man with special needs shuffled hunched into view. I was so surprised and captivated when he joined in, singing in a rich baritone voice. The pride on his mother's face reduced me to tears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.