madowoi

By madowoi

Lakewood

Lakewood is a tucked away pond with a small, quiet beach where families sometimes come with their young children. By reputation, it also has some ledges out of sight from the beach where people prefer to swim without any clothes on. Today I gambled that, with a closed access road, cold temperatures, and gusty winds, it was probably safe to venture out to the ledges without gaining a reputation. Sure enough I only ran into a group of mergansers, lots of beaver chew, and a solitary chickadee. I followed a fairly indistinct path around the east side of the pond until I came to a small stream. I rested for a bit and took this photo. I also came upon another old path that I now wish I had followed up into the woods, because I'm pretty sure it leads to another, even smaller pond. I will have to save that for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.