Lighting

I need to be in London tomorrow and as the architect for the house asked me to look at light fittings I came today. My heart wasn't remotely in it - planning permission still hasn't come through 15 months after applying for it and construction costs have gone up so much I'm focussed on being able to afford heating, not lights. Then the street I was walking along from the bus stop in Marble Arch towards Tottenham Court Road was making me feel sicker and sicker. Full of hugely tasteful, vastly expensive, by-appointment-only interior designers catering for the Carrie Symonds class - she who labelled her predecessor's tastes a 'John Lewis nightmare'. 

The first two showrooms on the list were indeed by appointment only but the most downmarket of them did let me in. I gave up on the others and just enjoyed walking through London in the sun. What's wrong with a paper lampshade anyway?

My train to the suburbs for the night rattled over Hungerford Bridge and threw me my favourite skyline in orange over my favourite bridge: that elegant concrete one over there, built by women 1939-45. I was without my camera today and knew my absurdly wide-angle phone wouldn't catch it but I had to try. And look at the crop I've managed to extract from it!

Extras - I couldn't go into the showroom but no-one stopped me playing with their unaffordable lights through their windows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.