zebra

By zebra

Wing and things part II

The termites came back and some of their wings fell into the dog bowl (well, so did the termites but they were not as photogenic).

I have a certain affinity for these bugs. When I first arrived in Kenya I stayed in Western Kenya. After one of the rains, I saw an elaborate structure made of twigs and blankets set out in the middle of the field. At the opening of this structure, there was a small hole in the ground which was then lined with banana leaves. Now do not ask me to go into more detail, but somehow the termites were duped into flying out of the structure and fell straight into the banana leaves. This allowed the architect the opportunity to scoop handfuls of the bugs and put them straight into his...MOUTH!

Apparently they are a delicacy and are enjoyed fresh, fried, with and without wings. I have never tasted them but I am assured that the taste just like peanuts. Hmmm...

Tomorrow I am back to work ...ahhh...the joys of a few days off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.