*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Together again

Rest in peace Auntie Audrey xx

Pictured here with my dad and grandma at Graves Park boating lake in Sheffield.

I have lots of happy memories of my auntie. She was different and when I sometimes stayed at hers for a few days during the summer holidays she always made an effort for it to be fun. Our sort of fun. We went swimming at Hillsborough Baths, played tennis in Longley Park, went to Kelham Island Industrial Museum to see the River Don Steam Engine in action, went Youth Hostelling at Eyam and got totally lost up on the moors(!)... and on one memorable occasion, a coach trip to Alton Towers. When you're 12 years old, that's pretty cool!

At Christmas she used to play all the Sheffield 'Old Carols' on the piano. I can still picture her, back and arms straight as a ramrods... and her distinctive laugh and apology every time she made a little mistake :-)

I shall miss her.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.