Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Cwm Idwal

With a bright day forecast, we head towards Llyn Ogwen. The clouds look ominous, but while Snowdonia’s mountains are predominantly in shadow, there are tantalising gaps in cloud-cover through which the sun’s rays appear, painting splashes of brightness on the autumn slopes. 

It’s undeniably chilly - Snowdon itself was dusted with snow last night - but it’s ideal weather to be out in the mountains, and so much quieter than our last visit. I’m hoping for mirror-flat water when we reach the higher Llyn Idwal, but there’s too much wind. Still, we continue our walk around the cwm above the water. By the time we reach the furthest point, I find my area of calm where the surrounding mountains are reflected - and one of these is chosen as today’s main (as always,  better large!) 

Of course, there are so many other gorgeous views, so there’s a selection in my extras. It’s lovely to be out walking in Snowdonia - though I must admit I’m finding the going really tough, possibly still recovering from my recent fall. 

And then it’s back home for our Covid boosters - on top of yesterday’s flu jabs. So far, so good - and I’m hoping it stays that way! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.