Results Day

Today I went back to meet the surgeon who operated on me last month. He said the results are positive, that all the cancer they know about has been taken out and there are no signs of cancer anywhere else. He said they don’t know what caused it and there’s nothing I can do to stop it coming back, other than have regular scans. There’s something like a 5 to 50% chance of it returning.

I’m trying to take this in. I am hugely relieved and grateful (and brought many boxes of chocolates as a meagre thank you). Next week I see my lovely oncologist and will quiz her more, too. 

It’s a funny thing, cancer. I can imagine re-doing my entire education and getting really stuck into research. Where did it come from? Why me? What can I do but be grateful for modern medical science, dedicated medical professionals and the NHS? 

In the evening Tim’s daughter came ‘round for supper and she kindly let me take her photograph. 

I have so much to be grateful for. Thank you Tim for holding my hand through all of this and more. Thank you to everyone for your support and encouragement. It means more to me than I can say. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.