It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Cherry Tea

I'm exhausted.

It was an early start and I really didn't want to get out of bed. My legs were still twitching after 6 hours on the bike yesterday. We were doing the Marple Parkrun at 9am and as R n I don't drive, we had to cycle. The 1st hill was horrible and I continued at snail on ketamine pace all the way to Marple. Rosemary's. patience held.

My plan had been to stick on her heels for the fist few km but she started quickly and soon had a 50m gap on me. I settled into my pace though and tried to relax. I don't remember much as I was concentrating hard to overcome the deep fatigue. I finished only a minute behind R and did my fastest time on that course which I was pleased with. The pedal home, especially up the hill in Marple Bridge was tough.

After a cuppa and a very long shower, we headed off into town. We were going to the Alternative Camera Club at the Whitworth. I was surprised R had agreed to go as its not her type of thing. The plan was to pick up some carryout food from 8th Day on the way but it was closed for Easter. Sheer devastation as I was starving.

http://www.sebakurtis.com/ Seba Kurtis an Argentinian photographer was presenting. The guy started off talking about how he was an illegal immigrant in Spain and how his mate was a ganja dealer....Hmmm, I suspect a slightly challenging topic for many in the group. I liked him though. He seemed a genuinely nice, honest and frank guy. Visually, his pictures didn't do it for me, but with further explanation they worked conceptually. A slightly different perspective to the one found in the Daily Mail, one suspects.

We then had a nice lunch at the gallery followed by a walk back towards the centre of Manchester via the Cotswold discount outdoor shop. Wow.....I saw a new side to Rosemary. She went though absolutely everything in the shop. My patience only lasted as we were heading off to NTP afterwards for a coffee. We did go via TK Maxx and I got a t-shirt with a skeleton holding a surfboard whilst riding a bike. Mint man!

A fine cup of Bolivian on V60 was just what I needed.....the cake I didn't need but I had that anyway. It helped me last out until we got home. A hilly bike ride, a 5km race and numerous hours walking the day after a 6 hour bike ride left me dead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.