Runaways

With four different starling nests close about the house I’m accustomed to continual chirping and that rasping purr made by the chicks. This morning it was louder than ever. On the lower part of the roof I saw four adults standing in a circle as though they were having a meeting. They looked so funny I was sorry I didn’t have my camera.

Then I looked up. On the highest part of the roof were these four chicks, making a racket and feeling hard done by. They were far too young to have left the nest. The runt, with his bare bottom, was barely able to stand. They still expected to be fed, though it was a couple of hours before the parents gave in and took them food.

Update: the chicks were off the roof next morning and spread around the garden. I could locate them by their harsh purring in the thicker bushes. The parents were frantically feeding them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.