Dilemma…

Hi Everyone,

Have you ever started looking for one thing and your journey take you somewhere else? When I worked and was lucky enough to get a bonus, I would always treat it as the name implies and buy something for family, friends, or myself that I would not normally purchase.

My uncle who died earlier this year has mentioned me in his will and last night I got to thinking that maybe I should treat it like a bonus and started looking for an OLYMPUS 35 SP CAMERA that I have wanted for years… it is a very old film camera.

So as the search took place, I ended up being led down a road to a Leica Q2 Monochrome, which is a camera that can only take black and white photos… It is a completely different financial proposition to the old Olympus camera. I have now watched many video reviews of the Q2 monochrome.

So, what is the attraction… Well, I think this is a little irrational really. 

 It works fine in inclement weather; I am not sure the prospective owner would. 

 It works very well in low light; I am in my PJ’s sipping my coco by 8PM.

 We have a well-known blipper who takes some very nice face shots in their journal however that are normally with a very long lens and cropped heavily to get the closeup mug shot. Now with the Q2 monochrome you have just one lens and would need to get up very close to take a mug shot. To my mind this is the right way to do things but here is the crazy thing is I would never do it myself. Would this camera make me get up close or would it make me leave it on the shelf?

Will I purchase one… I think it is highly unlikely as this is the perfect camera for the type of photographer I would like to be, but not suitable for the one I am…  but you never know, I may let the dice decide.

Stay happy, strong, and healthy… more tomorrow.

POG,,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.