Vaccine Centre Shift

So bitter but crisp and sunny was today’s forecast.

Started at mid-day today and mobbed ! On the lanes first and we had a young girl faint. She was ok but must have been worked up. Shame.

Then for the last 2 hours was on the bottom of the stairs, checking on the punters coming up, that they fitted the criteria which I took a pic on my phone of so I remembered from the start. There were a few different ones to remember.

I had this elderly man come up the steps to ask if he could speak to a vaccinator. I asked if I could help first so what he wanted was a copy of his vaccine certificate. I asked if he had a mobile phone to download the app and he pulled out one of these flip phones from donkeys years ago :(. I asked why he needed the vaccine certificate and he said the the Half a Sixpence pub wanted customers to show a proof of vaccine if the wanted to get up and do karaoke! He said a wee while ago he sung My Way and everyone told home he did a great impersonation of Frank Sinatra ! Awww! So he wanted to get back up again and get singing! I admired his dedication and effort to get on the stage in a little pub and belt out his favourite. I will always wonder how he got on when I walk past ‘the Tanner’. I hope he does , I got the feeling from talking to him that he didn’t have much in his life.

Time for bed - been watching a documentary on Freddie Mercury- really good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.