After storm Arwen

I only took this one photo today as I've done almost nothing all day. Storm Arwen has wreaked havoc across the country last night and this morning, with 3 poor souls losing their lives. We were fortunate to have no damage as a lot of people in the area have some. There was a tree on the railway line last night, a tree fell on someone's parked cars, wheelie bins blew away, a caravan ended up in someone's garden upside down - not theirs either. I heard Blackpool had stopped the trams due to sand from the beach on the tracks and a building partly collapsed there.
There were 120 lorries stuck on the M62 near Rochdale due to one having jacknifed in snow. Ther M62 was closed not far from us as well due to a lorry having either overturned or crashed.
I thought we were going to have a power failure a few times last night as the lights kept dipping - many people apparently had loss of power.
The one photo I took (more for a blip than anything else) I made sure I took from inside! It's been bitter cold today and is forecast to freeze tonight and tomorrow.
Thankful for central heating - I remember those days when all we had was one coal fire in one room, lots of draughts and a toilet down the yard!
It seems the omicron variant is already in the UK and several other European countries. Masks are back for public transport and shops - mine never got put away and I've been wearing them in shops and on transport all through! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.