Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Over the mountain

To Mountain City, Tennessee to the grocery store. Part of the road going from North Carolina into Tennessee narrows down to one lane of hairpin turns. This view is going up hill to the turn on the right where you see that slope..that is the road. Good thing heights don’t bother me as going down has steep drop offs with no guard rails. Just trees! I also was glad that I did not meet another car or truck. Total miles to the store is seven but it takes about 20 minutes.

Since I was by myself I was able to do a little exploring in Mountain City and just wow for this small rural town. Very much a town promoting the arts! Murals on many buildings and I actually stopped in the Johnson County Art Center. Paintings, woodwork, leather and so many other local artisans work. There are murals on many of the buildings. After talking with a woman at the shop she clued me in on the mural trail that is part of their history but also highlights artists. She also told me about two different antique/junk stores. Needless to say, I now will be spending more time in Mountain City exploring.

In the extra is a reproduced photo on the side of the arts building. It is an old photo of a fiddlers convention from 1925. I will be exploring more of the music history too. There is a visitor center and museum!

My grand girls were here for dinner but had to leave after a couple hours to go to their sisters who had to work today. Short time but lots of love and laughs. We laughed as the sister Cassidy’s fiancé was in charge of buying a turkey and came home with a 20 pound bird! Hope they can get the thing thawed out and cooked for tomorrow. Also hope they have a big enough baking pan!

Heading home after breakfast in the morning. Hoping to miss most of the traffic that I know will be on the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.