Grey Heron

Bit of a disaster today. When I got up it was snowing and a lot of it was lying. I thought that as well as the fish for the young one, I should also take up a bag of bird food for the other birds. There was snow lying all around the loch area and there was no sign of the young one either. As I reached the edge of the loch she flew over so I started feeding her. Unfortunately the ducks, swans and geese also came over. I put my camera strap on my shoulder and with one hand holding the open box of fish I tried to open the bird food bag. The camera strap slipped off my shoulder and pulled at my inner arm, most of the fish in the box went over my shoulder and disappeared into the snow. In short the young one had very little to eat. I went to the shop and got a couple of fillets of fresh fish and went back after breakfast. The young one was up her tree staring over. I could literally see her doing a double take before flying over for the two filets.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.