Frame

Freezing cold and windy today. We didn't have the storm that bettered the UK and caused snow in other parts of France, but it wasn't nice weather to be outside.

Today I started phase 1 of the DIY project at my mother-in-law's. The stair case is an all open affair which she (and I) doesn't like. So the plan is to gradually box it in so that the space under the stairs becomes a cupboard. For this phase I screwed a series of battens in a triangle around the side of the frame and in phase 2 I'll attach some MDF to the frame. The work went mostly well and I was able to use up a load of screws from dismantling part of the kitchen, and the metal "T" and "L" plates were used to make sure the frame was straight in all the right places.

The piece of MDF if cut correctly will completely fill the space, but if I screw up then I'll need to buy another sheet and I'll end up with a lot of waste. Using a circular saw will be interesting exercise. I know how to do it and I've seen it done, but I've never actually done it before so it will be interesting...

UPDATE: Owing to an Exif error this picture was actually taken yesterday and that's what the story should read...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.