Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

A glorious bright and sunny if sharply chilly day for a walk around Pluckley village. I am informed the setting for “Darling Buds of May”

2012: Oncologists in both Volos and Larisa agreed that it would be prudent for me to undergo 25 cycles of radiotherapy, but neither city could offer that service and so I chose Thessaloniki in preference to Athens to receive my treatment. We weren't Greek tax-payers so treatment, accommodation and travel all had to be paid for from our own savings. Five doses of chemotherapy and two of brachytherapy were added to the prescription.
Arachne came out to stay with me for two weeks of my treatment. She had just joined blip and was showing me what fun it was. Despite feeling tired and unwell from the treatment, I was finding that I was enjoying my time away from home a great deal more than I enjoyed living with my spouse. I wasn't having to account for how productively I had spent every daylight hour.
Back home after treatment and it all went rapidly downhill. I was useless, I was a disappointment, he felt cheated, he felt I had duped him into marrying a failure. Arachne came out to visit yet again and not long after she left, I followed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.