WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Bake Off

Exhausting day today! Yesterday and most of today I have been baking five different sorts of cake. Of course I bake cake often, but not in these quantities. It makes you realise the gulf between home baking and professionals. For example the first batch of these biscuits I baked, the ones in the middle of the tray were underdone. So I baked the next batch for two minutes longer and they were perfect. Third batch: same tray, same temperature, same amount of time, and they were burnt on the bottom.

I had various other minor catastrophes including unset caramel that I had to scrape off the shortbread and reboil, and Bakewell slices that burned round the edges so I had to trim them. Even something apparently simple,  namely cutting even-sized pieces, seemed impossible for me, despite the ruler. Bake Off bakers really are in another league.

I finally crossed the finish line at about 5:30, with thanks to S for doing endless sinkfuls of washing up, and keeled over on the sofa for the rest of the evening. Early start tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.