View across the Dart

... from the top of Gallant's Bower, above Dartmouth Castle. As we arrived from driving the few miles from home, I was afraid we'd left it too late and could end up coming down through the trees in the dark. Then I removed my sunglasses (!) We timed it perfectly. If you look closely, you can see the daymark on the headland on the other side of the Dart.

Such a contrast to yesterday's stormy gales; quite calm and with barely any wind! 

It's perhaps good that I found myself photographing a headland today as the word 'headland' is the latest definition I've written for the Omnificent English Dictionary In Limerick Form:

Here the land becomes narrow and reaches
Far out into sea, with few beaches.
It is sheer at the edges,
Where gulls nest on ledges,
Enhancing the headland with screeches.

© Celia Warren 2021

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.