The angels are coming

One of the attendees of this morning's Zoom meeting mentioned that he'd just been to an amazing light show at Peterborough Cathedral, so I quickly googled it and found there were still tickets for the last two performances this evening. Once the meeting was over I phoned Ben and Sarah to see if they wanted to come along, which they did. I'd bought the tickets before I checked the weather forecast, but was relieved that it looked as though it was likely to be dry.

I started to get a bit worried when I headed off to an afternoon site meeting, heading into a torrential ice and rain storm. The other participants arrived in the car-park, but we all decided it would be much better to discuss the project in the comfort of F's conservatory, with refreshments and underfloor heating!

After dinner I was beginning to wonder whether I'd done the right thing, as it was bitterly cold and decidedly wet, but we all wrapped up well to brave the conditions. I had planned to take the R6, but it was so cold and wet that I decided the phone would have to do.

The light show, which was designed to mark the start of Advent, was excellent, but by the end of twenty minutes in the freezing rain we were all feeling decidedly chilly. We were then invited into the Cathedral which  also had light displays. Walking up the nave felt decidedly trippy (see extra)! 

There was mulled wine and mince pies in the North Transept, from where you could watch more projections on the wall of the South Transept (see extra). At one point a lady read an extract from the Bible, familiar words from my childhood at a convent school. Although I'm not a believer, the combination of the beautiful architecture, the projections, candles and bible reading were profoundly comforting - and it was wonderful to experience this with other people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.