It never rains but it pours

As if the house wasn't cold enough with no heating, apart from the wood-burning stove in the lounge, we woke up to a thin layer of snow. Fortunately it didn't linger.

However, with both phone and laptop batteries dead, and desperate for a shower and a hot meal, I decided to come home to my flat in Balfron which had escaped the wrath of Storm Arwen. I brought Minty with me.

P, whom I was then able to contact, insisted that I stay the night here, so I returned to her house mid-afternoon to pick up essentials like food for Minty and me, and to make sure Pookie and Leo had enough food to keep them going till tomorrow morning.

Back in my cosy flat, news came in at 6pm from P, via a neighbour, that power had at last been restored - hallelujah! - but it was decided that we should stick to the plan to stay the night here.

Yippee! Having caught up with Strictly on iPlayer this morning, I was able to watch the results show live, and now I'm looking forward to a lovely warm bed, thanks to my electric blanket!

Spare a thought, though, for the thousands of families still waiting to have their electricity restored...

Extra  -  from our afternoon walk. A bitterly cold but beautiful day, some snow still lying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.