Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Path through the woods

Yesterday it took Gavin much longer than expected to put up the winter lights - when I went outside to check what he was doing I saw why it was taking longer than usual, as he had got quite carried away and had also put lights all over the shrubs and conifers in the front garden! I think it is a bit much so he will remove some, but by then it had started snowing and was so cold it was best to leave that for another day.

This morning I woke up to a light snow covering on the higher plants in the garden and frost - it was very cold! On my walk in the woods with Xena there were patches of snow/frost and ice, the pond was frozen and it was so cold. This is the new path that was recently laid in the common, it only covers a very small area of the woods so thankfully the woodland does not look like a theme park, but this will allow access for buggies and wheelchair users which is rather good for them I think.

Back home I warmed up with a coffee and then got stuck into wrapping Christmas presents - I was all done by 2pm then quickly had lunch. I still need a few more presents but I have plenty of time to get those.

The plumber was meant to come today to service the boiler - after cancelling on me last week due to 'an emergency'. This morning they cancelled again, someone was ill (read as Monday morning hangover?) and they wanted to make a third appointment for next week and I told them I not to bother as someone who cancelled on me twice did not deserve another chance as I could not rely on them that they would turn up a third time. They emailed and phoned to apologise but I decided to stick to my guns and said no thanks and have made an appointment with another plumber. This is not a one man business, it is a company which has many plumbers so I thought it was unacceptable to cancel twice. I have decided that the only way to get standards back up to par in #BrokenBritain is not to accept bad service!

I watched the final of Show Trial on BBC1 last night - was the right person convicted? It did leave me wondering.

Tonight is another camera club competition, our last one for this year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.