PandaPics

By pandammonium

Purple Le Creuset problem

The purple Le Creuset salt grinder ran out of salt the other day, but because of the science of water, salt and metal, the twiddly-knob on the top stuck fast, rendering the salt grinder unrefillable.

Tonight, I was boiling the purple Le Creuset kettle for sleepy tea, when I remembered science. Metal expands when it is heated. The salt grinder knob is metal. Deductive reasoning tells me that the knob would expand if I heated it (e.g. by immersing it in boiling water). If it expanded, it would surely be easier to unscrew.

When the purple Le Creuset kettle boiled, I poured water into the cups, only one of which was purple Le Creuset. I poured a bit of hot water into a little white dipping bowl, then upended the salt grinder and held its knob in the hot water. When I thought it had been in for long enough to heat the knob but not the metal spindle, I took it out again, and turned it loosey-lefty (holding it through my sleeve). It worked, proving that science and deductive reasoning are right (in this case).

I cleaned the purple Le Creuset grinder up a bit, dabbed a little cooking oil on the spindle for lubricant and protection, and screwed the knob on and off to make sure it worked. It did.

I left it dismantled for Mr Pandammonium to find in the morning with a note saying ‘I Zanussi’d it’. Whether he – or you – will get it or not is anybody’s guess.

Update: he did not.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.