Feline highs and lows

I sowed some cat grass and some catnip seeds the other day for Mr Perkins' benefit. I wondered what the effect of catnip on humans was, so I googled it. Apparently, it's used medicinally as a sedative when ingested. People smoke it as well for a high.

I also discovered that some cats react to valerian the same way that other cats might react to catnip (valerian and catnip are equally safe). The chemical responsible is different in each plant. In catnip (nepeta cataria), it's nepetalactone; in valerian, it's actinidine. Valerian is also used as a sedative in humans.

That night, I was in bed drinking a cup of Pukka night time tea, only to be bothered by Mr Perkins going crazy for the tea bag (left in a dish on the bedside cabinet) and the tea cup. He was mad for it.

Like me, you're probably wondering if Pukka night time tea contains valerian. Well, it does.

Mr Pandammonium suggested I make a little pillow with a tea bag in it. So I did (pictured). Mr Perkins, of course, is a cat, and is therefore inclined not to play with things that he's supposed to play with. His favourite toy is a (doggy) tennis ball. Mr Perkins wanted nothing to do with his specially made pillow of fun. I admit I'm disappointed. Especially as that was the first actual thing I've made with my 1950 Singer 99K sewing machine.

Perhaps he was still coming down from the high he got this morning from last night's tea bag.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.