XSworld

By XSworld

Life on Lichen

One of the things that I turn to photographing in the absence of invertebrates is moss and lichens. I find them fascinating, particularly lichen, a composite organism of fungi and algae/cyanobacteria with at times a psycadelic structure, and which is a great indicator of clean air. Basically, if you have a thriving lichen in your area, it means the quality of the air is good! Well, I was photographing a patch of lichen/moss on a treetrunk (extra photo) when I noticed a minuscule spider (maybe a harlequin jumping spider) on the lichen, can you see it in the exyra? He was so small that it was difficult to get a sharp photo without tripod and a lens extension or magnifying filter (I have none), but I was happy to find life where I did not expect to see any!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.