A dull, drizzly day and this afternoon Grasmere was the quietest I’ve seen it since the end of lockdown.

The morning was full of ……. er ……..excitement. I was outside Tesco at 7.04 but it hadn’t opened and there were 4 people waiting. I walked along the road and back. Still closed and the people waiting had gone. I went to Spar. 

Fast forward to 9.23 and I’d just made a second slice of toast when the electricity went off. I went outside to check the fuse box and my two neighbours were chatting.  Their power was off too. We were lucky at the weekend because there are people who lost electric in the storm on Friday evening and still haven’t been reconnected. We have a gas hob and a hot water bottle (plus gas camping lights, torches and a supply of batteries though I hoped they wouldn’t be necessary). Not wanting to get cold I sat on the floor, covered by the duvet off the single bed, and sorted through the two drawers containing recipes (Waitrose cards, magazine cuttings etc) and appliance instructions. I’ve probably reduced the contents by a third. At 11.30 the electric came on again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.