grab. shoot. see

By EmmaCiarrocca

Kenwood retro

Well today I invited one of my besties along for coffee, needless to say I wasn't expecting her to take my ken wood retro apart. But I trust her as she has some experience taking stuff apart (and the lovely lady is a techie teacher) cleaning and fixing it and then putting it together.

It was incredible to see what 40 years plus of mixing cakes had accumulated under one hood. Nearly all the plastic and aluminium parts went into the dishwasher ... I didn't put the parts with tiny washers in!

So with these parts in the dish washer I started to use a damp cloth to take the grease off . I used tooth picks but found they just snapped. Will go to the bargain store in the morning and with get a couple of tooth brushes so I get into the small corners. Please note I am keeping water well away from the plug, the motor and other parts!
Bestie told me that a full service costs about £170 and I'm not sure if there is a company that does it in Scotland either. And to top it off I bought this from a charity shop for £25!
It works fine and I really think the clean will give the machine a bit of TLC it deserves! ]it clearly has a cake story to tell if its made cakes since the day it was bought!
Will post another blip when done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.