stellarossa

By stellarossa

Student’s Union

Josh gave me a tour of Edinburgh Uni before we headed out to dinner. This beautifully lit building is the student’s union with its lovely Library Bar. We’d started the day at the museum of Modern Art which has some fantastic new acquisitions including an old favourite of ours - Dali’s lobster telephone. You can never have too much surrealism in your life…

In the evening we had a Taste of Scotland menu which was seven courses of food with drinks pairing. I loved the haggis parcels with potato purée, pickled neeps and bacon jam. Just sublime. What was most surprising was that we had this culinary extravaganza in a regular restaurant, nothing fancy - no tablecloths or airs and graces, and that the menu was £40 with the option of six paired drinks for another £25. Excellent value - no chance of getting that in London or Oxford.

Finally I said farewell to my boy. I leave in the morning to make my way back down south.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.