Geocache maintenance trip

Went to check on one of my geocaches today, which I've had disabled for a while as there was an issue with a man living in the woodland close to it. Had a look around this morning and no sign of any guy around the cache location. There was no evidence of anyone living there either. Maybe he moved to another location on the moss or moved away. I do know of a man living on the moss (Colliers Moss Common North, the site of an old colliery but now a haven for flora, fauna, cyclists and walkers) in a makeshift shack - he has been there for years and never bothers anyone. The Mersey Forest team is happy to let him stay.
It was very quiet on the moss today and very cold.
I didn't check my other caches as time was limited and there hasn't been a problem reported on any recently.
The cache was fine (it's well-hidden) but I exchanged the log and bag for new ones whilst visiting. I'm glad it hasn't gone missing as it's a novelty cache. It was a little Christmas cottage that had a light in it and I asked Terry to add a container into it, with just the lid protruding to unscrew and reveal the bag and log - which made it into a nice geocache.
I've enabled it again for people to find.
The trip made for a nice little walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.