Humility Lesson

Strava Day 186/75 Hard Off Phase Day 5. Outdoor workout and a couple of liters plus reading is done. There is a slightly searing pain in my lower left leg which is not from yesterday's brutal leg day but rather from a healing blister.
***
Rather beginning to like the book I'm currently reading. It's "Ego is the Enemy," another one from Ryan Holiday. He mentioned in passing about a supposedly famous mixed martial arts pioneer, Frank Shamrock who has an interesting training system for fighters called plus, equal and minus. It is recommended in this system to have someone better than you to learn from, to have someone lesser than you so that you can teach and to have someone equal who you could challenge yourself against. It reminds me of one of my favourite quotes: If you're the smartest person in the room, you're in the wrong room.
***
Yesterday, I already discovered how little I know about my own phone's camera settings and how I did not really practice the discipline for a while that I have become rusty. Although my eyes still sees a lot of potential stories and frames during mindful walks, I still have a lot to learn from a technical standpoint even after more than a decade. This is comforting in a way since photography would then become boring if I already knew everything. The challenge, the fun, the excitement is always in the process of learning.
***
Featured mobile photo for the 5:55 AM series is from our street. Here's to trusting your instincts, being patient and not losing interest in life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.