The Color and Shape of Water

It was a low-key birthday. We'd had my birthday lunch out the day before - fettuccine at the Olive Garden, plus cheesecake for dessert and a bonus "fettuccine to take home," which I ate on my actual birthday. I was well fed. I received many birthday wishes. I felt very well loved.

I also got to go walking in three different places. I had my regular walk around the neighborhood in the morning. I got to walk along Bald Eagle Creek at Soaring Eagle Wetlands. And I walked at Buffalo Run park while my husband jogged in a light drizzle. It is good to walk. I felt strong and able, praise the Lord!

The photo I've chosen for the day is a picture I took along Bald Eagle Creek. We had intermittent dramatic clouds alternating with beautiful blue skies. I was standing along the edge where there was a good current, and I just stood and watched, enjoying the colors and shapes I saw. It is very meditative, very zen, time spent along the water.

I love water, I love walking and wading and sitting in water, and I love to photograph water. Since it's my birthday, I'm going to include a favorite quote about water from Norman Maclean, who wrote the wonderful story A River Runs Through It. Pure poetry, in which water represents life itself.

"Eventually, all things merge into one, and a river runs through it. The river was cut by the world's great flood and runs over rocks from the basement of time. On some of those rocks are timeless raindrops. Under the rocks are the words, and some of the words are theirs."

Here's a song for my blue water: Stevie Nicks, with a solo performance of Blue Water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.