My suburban life

By MsAlliance

Lens vs brain

Here’s an illustration of the brilliance of the human brain in providing context and perspective vs the lens, which captures only what it sees in its frame.

I saw a gardener working on the grass roof of this tunnel in Central this afternoon. Of course my eye homed in on him weeding and watering away nonchalantly all the way up there as if he were in someone’s herbaceous border but of course I couldn’t capture this feat properly with a camera lens, still less my phone camera lens. If I zoomed in to focus on the man (Extra), my awe would be entirely lost and the capture would be mundane; instead I chose to capture and blip this scene as I saw it, hoping that your eye will focus on the same element as mine.

I don’t know whether this works or not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.