today's another day

By dbrereton

Dad

21 years gone today but this is how I like to remember him. Smiling. In a tie.

He did smile a lot, but normally it was trains or pipe organs, but here because he's got his hands full. Who knows, I think I'm around 3 and Judith is 1, maybe a little older, again, who knows? I don't, I was only 3 maybe, so can't remember.

That was my hat I remember that, he never drove a train, or did he? I don't know. In the end you have more questions than answers.

Today for work I met with the Chief Exec of Springhill Hospice to talk about us tendering to support their IT systems next year. Weirdly, it's 21 years since him and mum were due to be given a double room - which in those days they didn't have - so they could be reunited for the time he had left.

Never happened, lost his last game of scrabble too, which was a sign now we look back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.