Chrelizg21

By Chrelizg21

ControlMyNikon Episode 2:

After further reading and a couple of videos I thought I'd have a go at focus stacking a simple 3D object this morning. A wooden clothes peg hanging around on my work table seemed to fit the bill & I was in the process of getting everything set up when I noticed a tiny speck moving around on the peg. After some rapid repositioning of the peg & alterations to the ISO & shutter speed (much quicker on screen than using button & dial combinations on the camera!) I managed to grab a few shots. This one has the main features - eyes, antennae, legs - almost in focus. The cornicles - tiny structures which identify it as an aphid - are clearly visible on some of the others. The minute creature (probably brought it with my teasels) was moving rapidly, magnified much more on the big monitor, so I was over the moon at sort-of catching it & it had to be my Blip for today. I haven't cropped it at all, & it's the end of a normal-sized wooden clothes peg, to give some idea of scale. I didn't complete my stacking trial - that will have to wait for a bit, but I'm feeling more confident with the software now.

PS - just noticed the shutter speed & ISO - that's what the camera was set at itself, not what the software told it to do. I wouldn't have captured it at all at 1/60.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.