MollyG

By MollyG

Me and my shadow

We went off to parkrun as usual this morning. Beautiful morning for a run, a bit cold, but hardly any wind and nice and sunny. What I hadn’t even thought of was an icy prom and only noticed the pavement was a bit slippery when we got out of the car. We were greeted with the news that Edinburgh parkrun was cancelled! Oh woe! Totally the right decision though, as the prom was quite lethal with black ice and too much of a safety concern for 500 or so parkrunners. We started back to the car to return home, but then decided that, since we were dressed for running, we would go back down to the prom and run along the grass. So, we did a very slow and careful 5k jog on the grass and safe parts of the route. The ice had more or less melted by the time we finished. I took this photo of my shadow as I ran along near the Boardwalk Cafe.

It was a good decision, because the sky was already darkening as we were leaving, a rainbow had appeared and then the rain came on. The weather just got worse as the day went on with sleety showers in the afternoon. I doubt I would have ventured out for a run later in the day.

Missed my parkrun though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.