Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

New Gadget

Thankfully, the effects of the booster jab wore off by late evening and we’ve both felt fine today, albeit W still has a sore arm.

I mentioned a couple of days ago that I had treated myself to a new kitchen gadget and here it is; a sous vide machine.  This one clips on to any pan and whilst I’ve started off with fairly simple recipes, my experience so far is great.  It’s heating up here to 88C and will maintain that to within 0.1C while it’s cooking the butter poached potatoes and bacon wrapped leeks that are waiting to go in.  They both take an hour and the beauty of this is that when I take out the leeks to briefly pan-fry them to crisp up the bacon, the potatoes can stay for as long as I like because they won’t get any hotter so won’t overcook, and they can both wait until I’ve prepared the sauce to go with the cod loin I’m serving these with.

I’m looking forward to getting a bit more experimental; apparently belly pork takes 48 hours in here (it uses very little electricity once heated up) before being portioned and crisped up in a pan.  I’ll try that next week, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.