The Bather

Our sweet little feathered friends truly do love our bog. The very shallow, moving water attracts them like a birdie magnet. However, they aren't accustomed to seeing a human so close to their favorite bathing area. So...I've been getting them used to my presence by going out several times each day with my camera and standing just behind a nearby tree. They are beginning to pretty much ignore me now. I love Ovenbirds Seiurus aurocapilla. They are small birds, only 6" (15cm) and are winter visitors to our area. They migrate mostly at night. Those that nest east of the Appalachians typically go to the Caribbean for the winter while those from west of the Appalachians likely migrate to Mexico or Central America.  Passing through on it's migration, this little beauty will no doubt spend it's winter on some warm and sunny island in the Caribbean. I feel fortunate to have seen and gotten a photo of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.