LightWave

By LightWave

Wild Sea

Lovely sunny day, but the waves are still coming! I picked my way down to the end of the beach, came across lobstermen retrieving escaped lobster traps. Good to know that they do that, heaven knows there are a lot of mangled traps on the beach these days. We don't need any more.

There is a lot of storm damage. One of the dunes has been eaten away - it's now a little cliff instead of a dune. And the bird sanctuary is a mess of broken fences. The beach has become steeper and there is a strong undertow. Found that out the hard way, getting caught by an errant wave while taking pictures. Luckily I kept my balance, but my wellingtons are absolutely sodden!

The building in the distance that looks a bit like a church is the Nahant Lifesaving Station.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.