Garry's Castle

A visit to Old Torwood Castle today, and a bit of a surprise that someone lives there! There was a 'Kidnapped' moment as I approached and Garry hailed me out the window: 'Do you want a look around?'. Yes please.
Garry is working on restoring the castle: Historic Scotland have no interest, apparently. 
He showed me the (possibly) Roman well, which is 30 foot deep at the moment, and about 30 feet to go, he reckons. When he opened it, everything tightened. Ooft. 
I asked if he was worried that if he hits the stream, he may plunge, and good night Vienna. Yes, and he's thinking of putting in a winching system. Also, he has concerns that ordnance may have been dumped there during WW2. Blimey, good luck!
I got a brief tour, before a couple arrived and seemed to knock him off his stride. I moved to viewing from the outside, and thanked him for his time. Nice chap. I met the big ginger cat, but not the dog. He has a log burner, but no electricity or other facilities. The place is haunted, obviously. 
He asked that I check out 'Old Torwood Castle' on Instragram, which I will do if I can bear to open an account. 
Much more interesting than your average ruin. :-)
Thanks to Marlieske for the hosting duties for derelict Sunday. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.